Mac OS X 10.7 Lion Golden Master (Build 11A511)

Yay, finally a gold master release has been established. Now to get our hands dirty on the newest OS from Apple. I could have attempted to write up a tutorial on how to install Lion on your hackintosh with the beta release, but if you recollect my previous post about Lion, you’ll remember I was testing the beta version out on my macbook pro. Though I was very pleased with the operating system and for a beta release it was very stable, it still had minor annoying glitches and some software conflicts. Considering I use my hackintosh for college, I can’t really afford a half-ass OS on my main machine that wouldn’t work with my chemistry software. Now all that has changed (hopefully). I just got a hand of the Gold Master Build and I am making preperations to my harddrive and machine to have a fresh install of OSX Lion 10.7.

Things to Note about the Gold master and 10.6.8 release:

  •  “Golden Master” refers to the final release version. 11A511 is listed as GM. You will be able to update as Apple releases 10.7.x maintenance builds.
  • There have been speculations about Lion only being installed through an update from Snow leopard 10.6.8. This I will verify in the upcoming posts soon. Just after this hell week subsides in course work.
  • 10.8.0 Darwin kernel with native Sandy Bridge support. This means that going forward, all Sandy Bridge systems can use default iBoot + MultiBeast method. (tonymac’s site)
  • SATA3 6gbps now recognized and functional on Sandy Bridge. (tonymac’s site)
  • Includes drivers for Sandy Bridge Intel HD 2000/3000 Integrated Graphics (No Injector Yet) (tonymac’s site)
  • Includes drivers for AMD 6xxx Graphics cards (tonymac’s site)
  • App Store Update to “Get Ready for Lion” (tonymac’s site 10.6.8)
You can expect a tutorial soon in PDF. Maybe 2-3 weeks or so.
7 comments on “Mac OS X 10.7 Lion Golden Master (Build 11A511)

  1. I have successfully loaded Lion Gold Master on my Dell Latitude E6400.

    I created a Lion USB installer. The installer is a 8GB USB GUID partition that automatically gets named as Mac OS X Base system when it is restored from Base System.dmg on Lion Gold Master. Then I , copied fakesmc, ACPIPlatform…, IOPCI… in /S/L/E on the installer drive. I used Kext Wizard which also repair /S/L/E permissions on the installer.

    Kext Wizard that allows you to load kexts to other drives and repair other drives (from the one you are booted into) is a great help.

    As I was loading Lion on an MBR partition I replaced:
    /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Base\ System/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg and
    /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Base\ System/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/OSInstall
    –on the installer drive with modified files (obtained by googling)

    Then I booted into the USB installer using Chameleon-2.0-RC5-r1083.pkg loaded on my existing SL drive, with -v -f flags. Then O followed regular install process. Once install is through I booted into existing SL and copied fakesmc, ACPIPlatform…, IOPCI… in /S/L/E on the new Lion Drive with Kext Wizard and repaired /S/L/E permissions. I also copied com.apple.Boot.plist from my old SL into /E of the new Lion Drive and repaired permissions on /E as well. This last step is essential to avoid kernel panic or keyboard freeze at login time after loading Chameleon on the new Lion Drive.

    After initial boot up, for whatever system that didnt work, I used my old SL kexts, such as IONetworkingFamily.kext, IO80211Family.kext, Intel82566MM.kext, VoodooHDA, VoodooSDHC, AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext

    To enable native ntfs, I used iBlacky method of copying mount_ntfs to mount_ntfs.org and saving the follwing script to mount_ntfs:
    #!/bin/sh
    /sbin/mount_ntfs.orig -o rw “$@“

    For this too I had to load the kext from SL.

    I now have a fully working Lion Gold Master. As it doesnt have nvidia, I cannot enjoy all graphic applications, but it does better than my SL, as I able to open jpegs with Preview.app.

  2. @ rachanta.

    A step by step would be great, If your up to it, I can give you publisher status to this blog and we can work on a page regarding a lion installer USB together. I am planning on creating a new page regarding Lion independently anyways. Let me know what you think and if your up for it.

    email: devataa at gmail dot com

    • The basic method is drawn from Maldon’s work detailed at http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=256729

      You will need:

      1. A dell E6400 laptop with working SL updated to 10.6.7. (When I found that update to 10.6.8 needs the same preparatory work as for Lion, I skipped 10.6.8 and went directly for Lion Gold Master.). Load Chameleon Boot loader on existing SL drive (Chameleon-2.0-RC5-r1083.pkg downloaded from http://olarila.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70)
      2. A USB, external Hard Drive (Mine is a Transcend Store Jet)
      3. Lion Gold Master downloaded (from imzdl.com)
      4. Kext Wizard (http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=253395)
      5. If installing on a MBR partitioned drive use MBR Patched OSXinstall.mpkg and OSinstall framework from http://www.kexts.com/view/1431-mbr_patched_osinstall_framework__mpkg_for_lion_gm.html

      Creating the Lion USB installer:

      6. Create GUID partitioned, USB drive with MAC OS Extended journaled partition of about 8-10 GB for installer
      7. From the downloaded OS X Lion GM zip get the Install Mac OS X Lion folder, do a right click on the folder, show package contents, and navigate to /Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg. Double click here and mount Base System.dmg. This will mount a drive called Mac OS X Base System. In Disk Utility, click on restore tab, drag Mac OS X Base System to Source. Drag the 8 GB USB drive to Destination. Now click on Restore tab at bottom left in the Disk Utility window. After this operation you will have a new USB Installer drive called Mac OS X Base System.
      8. Copy mach_kernel from the the root of the downloaded /Contents/SharedSupport/InstallESD.dmg to the root of the new Mac OS X Base System installer drive.
      9. Copy your SL fakesmc, AppleACPIPlatform.kext, IOPCIFamily.kext in /S/L/E on the installer drive using Kext Wizard and repair permissions.
      10. As I was planning to load Lion on an MBR partition on my main HDD, I replaced /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Base\ System/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg and /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Base\ System/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/OSInstall – on the installer drive with modified files from kexts.com
      11. Plug in the installer USB, boot into existing SL with the new Chameleon
      12. You will now see an option of booting into Mac OS X Base system. Boot with -v -f flags and follow the usual procedure and install. I have installed on a blank mbr partitioned drive, as well installed over an existing SL mbr partitioned drive using this method

      Post Install:
      13. Again boot into your existing SL drive, the Chameleon Boot Loader will now show your new Lion Drive
      14. Boot into your existing SL and copy fakesmc, ACPIPlatform…, IOPCI… in /S/L/E on the new Lion Drive with Kext Wizard and repaired /S/L/E permissions.
      15. Also copy com.apple.Boot.plist from my old SL into /E of the new Lion Drive and repaired permissions on /E as well. This last step is essential to avoid kernel panic or keyboard freeze at login time after loading Chameleon on the new Lion Drive.
      16. After initial boot up, for whatever system that didnt work, I used my old SL kexts, such as IONetworkingFamily.kext, IO80211Family.kext, Intel82566MM.kext, VoodooHDA, VoodooSDHC, AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext

      NTFS Support:
      The only ntfs driver that is currently available free is from Paragon, and is a 10 day trial. As there is no joy in this, it is better to enable native ntfs

      Enabling native ntfs –
      17. I used iBlacky method (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=785376):
      18. At first ntfs still did not work. I then took the ntfs kext from my existing SL, and installed it using Kext Wizard. Now it works

      I now have a fully working Lion Gold Master. As it doesnt have nvidia, I cannot enjoy all graphic applications, but it does better than my SL, as I able to open jpegs with Preview.app.

  3. For triple boot – Windows, Linux, OS X

    General loading sequence for triple boot:

    First install Windows. While doing this, make enough partitions for the three OSes and data.

    Next load Ubuntu. Ubuntu grub gets loaded (you can update-grub later to allow boot from grub to os x). Grub is to be loaded only on the partition containing the Linux File System (eg., sdc3), and not root of the USB StoreJet, sdc during the Linux installation. This makes Ubuntu access from Chameleon (which we will load subsequently) possible.

    Finally load Lion (MBR- only MBR can coexist with Windows). With Lion load the Chameleon boot loader (Chameleon-2.0-RC5-r1083) which now operates as an overall cover boot loader that accesses a secondary Ubuntu grub list boot loader, Windows and OS X.

Leave a Reply

